Florida DUI Penalties
DUI Attorneys And Lawyers Serving Polk County, Florida
If you have been arrested for DUI in Polk County, Florida, much is at stake. The legislature has enacted minimum mandatory sentencing in almost all types of DUI cases throughout Florida. Over the last several years, fines have been enhanced as a way to deal with state budget problems and aggravated DUI breath alcohol levels have decreased. That means that the penalties for DUI continue to rise. Several years ago the legislature enacted the mandatory ignition interlock requirement for certain DUI cases. The legislature mandated the installation for a minimum of 6 months following all DUI conviction with breath test results above a .15. On multiple DUI convictions the amount of time can double, depending on the facts.
As you can see, it is important to do what you can to avoid a conviction and therefore serious criminal penalties. The right Polk County DUI attorney can make all the difference in the outcome of your case, and at Finebloom & Haenel we offer a free initial consultation in order to help you find out what your rights and options are at this point. Our firm is based in several locations throughout Florida, and we represent clients throughout Polk County and the surrounding areas.
Polk County DUI Penalties – DUI School
DUI School is an important part of the penalties which may be imposed for a Polk County DUI conviction. Almost every county in the State of Florida has contracted with the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles to operate a DUI school. The closest DUI school for Polk County residents is Tri-County Human Services located at 1811 Crystal Lake Drive, Lakeland, FL 33801. They service Polk, Highlands, and Hardee Counties from that location. Their phone number is 863-701-1919. There are two different types of DUI schools, level 1 or level 2 multi-offender. Completing DUI school is by no means an admission of guilt, and is required in almost every DUI case, unless the charges are dropped completely and you succeed in overturning the administrative suspension of your license. DUI school level 1 is a 12 hour course which teaches you about the dangers of drinking and driving, and the effects that alcohol has on the body. A component of any DUI school is a psycho-social evaluation. Our office has no control over the evaluation process. Your case may get reduced later on down the line, but the evaluator may require you to complete additional one-on-one counseling. The DUI schools have a list of approved providers who contract with the DUI school and state to provide these counseling sessions.
Consult a DUI Attorney
It will be in your best interests to consult a DUI attorney in your area as soon as possible, if you are to have the best opportunity of avoiding a conviction and criminal penalties. At Finebloom & Haenel, we are happy to discuss your case with you during your free case evaluation.
Contact our firm today!